• From other CWL blogs...

    Local Studies

    Dalton’s/Western Stores/Myer – passing of an era

    The Orange & District Historical Society’s next History Alive meeting has been postponed from Wednesday 9th to Wednesday 23 November. This is so....

    Orange Family History Group

    How to Store Your Collection Safely

    We thought you might like this series of videos by the State Library of Queensland. The third in the series is Caring for Collections: How to Store Y....

  • CWL Events

    March  2023
    Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
      1 2 3 4 5
    6 7 8 9 10 11 12
    13 14 15 16 17 18 19
    20 21 22 23 24 25 26
    27 28 29 30 31  

Central West Libraries Committee

The Annual General Meeting of the Central West Libraries Committee was held in Orange last Friday with Cr Gavin Priestley(Orange)elected as Chairperson and Cr Geoff Braddon (Blayney)as Deputy Chairperson.

The 11 person committee consists of two representatives each from each of the 5 Member Councils (Blayney, Cabonne, Cowra, Forbes and Orange), plus the Executive Member who is always the General Manager of Orange City Council, or his delegate.

The current membership is:
Cr Geoff Braddon (Blayney)
Cr Roxanne Reeks (Blayney)
Cr Janine Culverson (Cabonne)
Mr Graeme Fleming (Cabonne)
Cr Ray Walsh (Cowra)
Mr Paul Devery (Cowra)
Cr Duke Jelbart (Forbes)
Ms Amity Hawthorn (Forbes)
Cr Gavin Priestley (Orange)
Mr Michael Milston (Orange)
Mr Garry Styles Executive Member (delgate Ms Christine Hannus).

The first Library Committee meeting was held on 1 November 1957 in the Town Hall (now the OCTEC Building) Orange when Cr F J Page of Orange City Council was elected as Chairman, narrowly beating Cr Max Stapleton of Boree Shire Council (a forerunner of Cabonne Council). Councillor Stapleton would go on to become the Chairman of the Library Committee in 1962, a position he would hold his retirement from local government in 1999.

Posted in About Us. | Leave a Comment