• From other CWL blogs...

    Local Studies

    Dalton’s/Western Stores/Myer – passing of an era

    The Orange & District Historical Society’s next History Alive meeting has been postponed from Wednesday 9th to Wednesday 23 November. This is so....

    Orange Family History Group

    How to Store Your Collection Safely

    We thought you might like this series of videos by the State Library of Queensland. The third in the series is Caring for Collections: How to Store Y....

  • CWL Events

    March  2023
    Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
      1 2 3 4 5
    6 7 8 9 10 11 12
    13 14 15 16 17 18 19
    20 21 22 23 24 25 26
    27 28 29 30 31  

2010 Banjo Paterson Writing Awards Winners Announced

This year bushfires, drought and animals were recurring themes across all the sections of the Banjo Paterson Writing Awards. We are pleased to announce the following winners:
Prose: Jacqueline Winn, of Possum Brush NSW, for The Dangers of Swimming, Greg McFarland, of Orange NSW, for Roadside Memorial and Kate Rotherham, of Allans Flat VIC, for Shelter.

Open Poetry: Brenda Saunders, of Randwick NSW, for Wonderland.

Bush Poetry: Ron Stevens, of Dubbo NSW, for Behind the Flag and Ellis Campbell, of Dubbo NSW, for The Toll and Ellis Campbell, of Dubbo NSW, for A Dynasty's Demise.

Children's Writing Awards supported by ABC Local Radio: Chris Frith, of Baradine NSW for The Downpour, Eleanor Delaney, of Orange NSW for The Last Dee Why Day – A True Story and Chester Fitzhardinge, of Balgowlah NSW, for The Dream Protectors.

The Yvonne Zola Encouragement Award goes to Elise Sinclair, of Orange NSW, for her story, Tommy in Trouble. Congratulations!

Posted in Awards, Banjo, Competition, News, Reading & Writing. | Leave a Comment