• From other CWL blogs...

    Local Studies

    Dalton’s/Western Stores/Myer – passing of an era

    The Orange & District Historical Society’s next History Alive meeting has been postponed from Wednesday 9th to Wednesday 23 November. This is so....

    Orange Family History Group

    How to Store Your Collection Safely

    We thought you might like this series of videos by the State Library of Queensland. The third in the series is Caring for Collections: How to Store Y....

  • CWL Events

    March  2023
    Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
      1 2 3 4 5
    6 7 8 9 10 11 12
    13 14 15 16 17 18 19
    20 21 22 23 24 25 26
    27 28 29 30 31  

Nobel Prize for Literature 2010

And the Nobel Prize for Literature is announced in English, Swedish and Spanish…

The Nobel Prize in Literature for 2010 is awarded to the Peruvian author Mario Vargas Llosa “for his cartography of structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual's resistance, revolt, and defeat”. Llosa is only the second South American to win the coveted award in literature. “The Nobel Prize is not only a recognition of a writer and one work but also at the same time a recognition of the Spanish language,” Llosa said.
Llosa will receive the $1.5 million award on December 10 in Sweden. Check out the videos for the announcement, interview and media scrums! For more

This press conference was held at the Istituto Cervantes in New York.

Posted in Awards, News, Reading & Writing. | Leave a Comment