• From other CWL blogs...

    Local Studies

    Dalton’s/Western Stores/Myer – passing of an era

    The Orange & District Historical Society’s next History Alive meeting has been postponed from Wednesday 9th to Wednesday 23 November. This is so....

    Orange Family History Group

    How to Store Your Collection Safely

    We thought you might like this series of videos by the State Library of Queensland. The third in the series is Caring for Collections: How to Store Y....

  • CWL Events

    March  2023
    Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
      1 2 3 4 5
    6 7 8 9 10 11 12
    13 14 15 16 17 18 19
    20 21 22 23 24 25 26
    27 28 29 30 31  

Winners of the 2012 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards

Prime Minister's Literary Awards

Prime Minister's Literary Awards

Prime Minister Julia Gillard and Arts Minister Simon Crean today announced the winners of the 2012 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards at a ceremony at the National Library of Australia.

Gillian Mears won the fiction award for her novel Foal’s Bread while the award for poetry went to Luke Davies for Interferon Psalms.

The young adult fiction category was won by Robert Newton for When We Were Two and the children’s fiction award went to author Frances Watts and illustrator Judy Watson for Goodnight, Mice!

Mark McKenna won the non-fiction award for his book An Eye for Eternity: The Life of Manning Clark and the Prize for Australian History was awarded to Bill Gammage for The Biggest Estate on Earth: How Aborigines Made Australia.

Now in its fifth year, the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards recognise and reward excellence in Australian literature and history.

In 2012 the winner of each category was awarded $80,000 and each shortlisted author received $5000.

For more information visit www.arts.gov.au/pmliteraryawards

Posted in Awards, News. | Leave a Comment