• From other CWL blogs...

    Local Studies

    Dalton’s/Western Stores/Myer – passing of an era

    The Orange & District Historical Society’s next History Alive meeting has been postponed from Wednesday 9th to Wednesday 23 November. This is so....

    Orange Family History Group

    How to Store Your Collection Safely

    We thought you might like this series of videos by the State Library of Queensland. The third in the series is Caring for Collections: How to Store Y....

  • CWL Events

    March  2023
    Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
      1 2 3 4 5
    6 7 8 9 10 11 12
    13 14 15 16 17 18 19
    20 21 22 23 24 25 26
    27 28 29 30 31  

2009 Commonwealth Writers' Prize – Regional Winners

You will never guess the name of the Best Book in the South-East Asia and Pacific region of the Commonwealth Writers' Prize  well you might if you keep up with Pageturners and here's a hint  it is an insight into suburban life and features a child called Hugo. Yes  The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas won. Winner of the Best First Book was The Year of The Shanghai Shark by Mo Zhi Hong of New Zealand. Check out all the shortlisted titles in each region at the Commonwealth Foundation website: http://www.commonwealthfoundation.com/culturediversity/writersprize/cwp/2009%20prize/2009list/. The overall winner of the Best Book and Best First Book prizes (chosen from the winners in each region) will be announced in May 2009.

Posted in Awards, Reading & Writing. | Leave a Comment