Skip to main content
AwardsReading & Writing

2009 Commonwealth Writers' Prize – Regional Winners

By March 27, 2009No Comments

You will never guess the name of the Best Book in the South-East Asia and Pacific region of the Commonwealth Writers' Prize  well you might if you keep up with Pageturners and here's a hint  it is an insight into suburban life and features a child called Hugo. Yes  The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas won. Winner of the Best First Book was The Year of The Shanghai Shark by Mo Zhi Hong of New Zealand. Check out all the shortlisted titles in each region at the Commonwealth Foundation website: The overall winner of the Best Book and Best First Book prizes (chosen from the winners in each region) will be announced in May 2009.