• From other CWL blogs...

    Local Studies

    Dalton’s/Western Stores/Myer – passing of an era

    The Orange & District Historical Society’s next History Alive meeting has been postponed from Wednesday 9th to Wednesday 23 November. This is so....

    Orange Family History Group

    How to Store Your Collection Safely

    We thought you might like this series of videos by the State Library of Queensland. The third in the series is Caring for Collections: How to Store Y....

  • CWL Events

    March  2023
    Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
      1 2 3 4 5
    6 7 8 9 10 11 12
    13 14 15 16 17 18 19
    20 21 22 23 24 25 26
    27 28 29 30 31  

2009 Man Booker International Prize

The Judges' List of contenders for the 2009 Man Booker International Prize has also been announced. “The Man Booker International Prize differs from the annual Man Booker Prize for Fiction in that it highlights one writer's continued creativity, development and overall contribution to fiction on the world stage. It is awarded every two years.” This year 14 authors from 12 different countries have been included on the list: seven of the authors are writers in translation.
The authors are:
Peter Carey (Australia),
Evan S. Connell (USA),
Mahasweta Devi (India),
E.L. Doctorow (USA),
James Kelman (UK),
Mario Vargas Llosa (Peru),
Arnoat Lustig (Czechoslovakia),
Alice Munro (Canada),
V.S. Naipaul (Trinidad/India),
Joyce Carol Oates (USA),
Antonio Tabucchi (Italy),
Ngugi Wa Thiong'O (Kenya),
Dubravka Ugresic (Croatia),
Ludmila Ulitskaya (Russia).
The winner will be announced in May 2009.

Posted in Awards, News, Reading & Writing. | Leave a Comment