Skip to main content
AwardsNewsReading & Writing

2009 Man Booker International Prize

By March 31, 2009No Comments

The Judges' List of contenders for the 2009 Man Booker International Prize has also been announced. “The Man Booker International Prize differs from the annual Man Booker Prize for Fiction in that it highlights one writer's continued creativity, development and overall contribution to fiction on the world stage. It is awarded every two years.” This year 14 authors from 12 different countries have been included on the list: seven of the authors are writers in translation.
The authors are:
Peter Carey (Australia),
Evan S. Connell (USA),
Mahasweta Devi (India),
E.L. Doctorow (USA),
James Kelman (UK),
Mario Vargas Llosa (Peru),
Arnoat Lustig (Czechoslovakia),
Alice Munro (Canada),
V.S. Naipaul (Trinidad/India),
Joyce Carol Oates (USA),
Antonio Tabucchi (Italy),
Ngugi Wa Thiong'O (Kenya),
Dubravka Ugresic (Croatia),
Ludmila Ulitskaya (Russia).
The winner will be announced in May 2009.