Skip to main content
AwardsNewsReading & Writing

2011 Prime Minister's Literary Awards – Shortlists announced

By May 31, 2011No Comments

Arts Minister Simon Crean has announced the 20 great Australian titles that have made it onto the 2011 Prime Minister's Literary Awards shortlists.

The judging panels were enormously impressed by the breadth of talent displayed in this year's entries, and applauded the inventiveness, artistry and flair for which Australian creators and publishers are justly renowned.

Non-fiction shortlist:

Sydney, Delia Falconer;
How To Make Gravy, Paul Kelly;
The Party, Richard McGregor;
The Hard Light of Day, Rod Moss;
Claude Levi-Strauss: The Poet in the Laboratory, Patrick Wilcken.

Fiction shortlist:

Traitor, Stephen Daisley;
Notorious, Roberta Lowing;
When Colts Ran, Roger McDonald;
Glissando, David Musgrave;
That Deadman Dance, Kim Scott.

Young adult fiction shortlist:

Good Oil, Laura Buzo;
Graffiti Moon, Cath Crowley;
The Three Loves of Persimmon, Cassandra Gold;
About a Girl, Joanne Horniman;
The Piper's Son, Melina Marchetta.

Children's fiction shortlist:

Why I Love Australia, Bronwyn Bancroft;
Flyaway, Lucy Christopher;
Now, Morris Gleitzman;
April Underhill, Tooth Fairy, Bob Graham;
Shake a Leg, Boori Monty Pryor and Jan Ormerod.

For more information about the shortlists go to