Skip to main content

Questions of Travel by Michelle de Kretser Wins Prime Minister’s Literary Awards

By August 16, 2013No Comments

Questions of Travel

This year’s winners for the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards, Australia’s richest literary awards, have just been announced. They are:

The much-awarded Questions of Travel by Michelle de Kretser for fiction;  The Australian Moment by George Megalogenis for non-fiction; Jam Tree Gully by John Kinsella for poetry; Fog a Dox  by Bruce Pascoe for young adult fiction;  Red by Libby Gleeson for children’s fiction;  Farewell, dear people by Ross McMullin for Australian history.

The winners were chosen from a shortlist of 29 books and will share in a prize pool of $625,000. The Prime Minister’s Literary Awards recognise authors who have proven literary excellence, highlighted in their recently published work. Each winner receives $80,000 and shortlisted authors each receive $5,000.

Questions of Travel also won The 2013 Miles Franklin Award and was shortlisted for both this year’s Stella Prize and The Kibble Literary Award for Women Writers. Congrats to all the winners and nominated writers.