Skip to main content
AwardsNewsReading & Writing

Check Out the Stella Prize Shortlist

By March 25, 2014No Comments

Stella Prize

We love awards – guessing who might win and possibly discovering  your next great read. The Stella Prize is $50,000 cash to celebrate Australian women’s contribution to literature.  And for the first time the other five shortlisted authors will also receive prize money of $2000, courtesy of the Nelson Meers Foundation. The Stella Prize is open to works of both fiction and nonfiction with the winner to be announced on Tuesday 29 April.

The 2014 Stella Prize shortlist is (drumroll please):

Burial Rites by Hannah Kent (Picador)

Night Games by Anna Krien (Black Inc)

The Night Guest by Fiona McFarlane (Penguin)

Boy, Lost: A Family Memoir by Kristina Olsson (UQP)

The Swan Book by Alexis Wright (Giramondo)

The Forgotten Rebels of Eureka by Clare Wright (Text Publishing)