Skip to main content
AwardsBanjoChildrenNewsReading & Writing

2009 Banjo Paterson Writing Award winners

By June 15, 2009No Comments

Central West Libraries Manager Jan Richards said environment and relationship themes emerged across all the sections during the judging process in the 2009 Banjo Paterson Writing Awards. The Awards recognise Orange's literary history and further encourages writers to develop their craft. Congratulations to all the entrants and here are the winners:

Prose/ Short Story:
Peter W. Bishop, of Scone, NSW for “Lukey”; Panagiotis Papathanasiou, of Hackett, ACT, for “The Lure”:
Sarah Michell from Lithgow, NSW for “Going Without”.

Open Poetry:
Judy Johnson, Cardiff, NSW for “The Bushranger's Bible”;
Mark Miller, of Shoalhaven Heads, NSW for “Small-Town Journal”;
Jo Mills, of Darlington, WA for “Ledge Beach”.

Bush Poetry:
Ron Stevens, of Dubbo for “The Shame of Staying Put”;
Ellis Campbell, of Dubbo, NSW, for “Eulogy of Crows”;
Kristen Martin, of West Beach SA, for “Memories by the Murray”.

Children's Writing Awards:
Isaac Bath, of Duramana NSW for his poem “Bushfire”;
Samuel Bath, of Duramana, NSW for his poem “Ducks of the Wild”;
Rebekah Ritchie, of Forest Reefs, NSW for her story “The Climbing Experts”.

The Yvonne Zola Encouragement Award goes to Lachlan Fenemor, Orange for his story “Doggie Adventure”.