Skip to main content
NewsReading & Writing

Author Steven Carroll wins Miles Franklin

By June 20, 2008No Comments

Last night the winner of the prestigious Miles Franklin Literary award was announced: Steven Carroll for his novel The Time We Have Taken. The Award celebrates Australian character and creativity and nurtures the continuing life of literature about Australia. It is awarded for the novel of the year which is of the highest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases. Commenting on the winner's novel, the Judging Panel wrote: “Carroll's novel is a poised, philosophically profound exploration of the question, a stand-alone work that is moving and indelible in its evocation of the extraordinary in ordinary lives.” His publisher said The Time We Have Taken “counterpoints the story of a family with that of a community  and a nation  also undergoing great change. It is rich, lyrical and profound”. For more details go to