Skip to main content
NewsReading & Writing

Miles Franklin Award Long List Announced

By March 17, 2010No Comments

Australian Associated Press has reported 3 debut novelists join some of Australia's most celebrated authors on this year's longlist for the Miles Franklin Literary Award. Twelve novelists will be considered for the 2010 award, which includes a prize of $42,000. Drum roll please…The Long List includes:
Thomas Keneally for The People's Train.
Peter Carey with his work Parrot And Olivier In America.
David Foster for Sons of the Rumour.
The Bath Fugues by Brian Castro.
Boy on a Wire by Jon Doust.
Butterfly by Sonya Hartnett.
Truth by Peter Temple
Alex Miller with Lovesong.
Deborah Forster for The Book Of Emmett.
Patrick Allington with Figurehead.
Craig Silvey for Jasper Jones.
and Glenda Guest with Siddon Rock.
Miles Franklin judge Morag Fraser said it was terrific to find some new writers that we'd never read before, whose writing just sat up and said 'pick me'.
The annual award was set up in 1954 through a bequest of My Brilliant Career author Stella Miles Franklin. The 2010 shortlist will be announced in April, with the winner named on June 22.