Skip to main content

Banjo Paterson Writing Award Winners

By June 25, 2012June 26th, 20122 Comments
Banjo Paterson Writing Awards

Banjo Paterson Writing Awards

Congratulations to all the entrants of the 2012 Banjo Paterson Writing Awards. We are pleased to announce the winners:

Short Story:
1st Place: Jim Kent, of Port Fairy VIC, for Midwife

2nd Place: Fiona Skepper, of Elwood VIC, for La Primevera

3rd Place: Jessica Hancock, of Maylands WA, for The Hayshed

Bush Poetry

1st Prize: Tom Mc Ilveen Port Macquarie, NSW for – Rainbow Serpent’s Progeny

2nd Prize:
Debra Dunn, of Orange, for – Monuments of Time

3rd Prize:

Peter Rondel WA for – The Great Flood

Open Poetry

1st Prize: Helen Thurloe, Avalon NSW for Host

2nd Prize: Margaret Bradstock, of Coogee, for Mawson: the Heroic Era

Third Prize:Jo Mills, WA, for Crown of Stars

ABC Local Radio Childrens Award:

1st Prize: Parris Hammond, of Marrickville NSW, for Letter to the Moon

2nd Prize: Charlie Campbell, of Orange, for the poem Just One Day

3rd Prize: Annie Nash, of Coonabarabran, for story Me and a Horse Called Manny.

Yvonne Zola encouragement award to Bella Stoyles, of Orange, for The Sling Shot Sargeant.

You can now view the winning entries on the Central West Writers’ Centre page by clicking on the underlined links go to


  • Jo Mills says:

    It is such an honour to be awared a prize in the Banjo Paterson Awards again this year…a big thank you to the judges and organisers.