Skip to main content
AwardsForbesHistoryNewsOrangeReading & WritingUncategorized

Miles Franklin Literary Awards Longlist Announced

By April 3, 2014No Comments
Game by Trevor Shearston

Game by Trevor Shearston

Drum roll….Australia’s most prestigious literature prize, the Miles Franklin Award, was established through the will of My Brilliant Career author, Miles Franklin and the 2014 longlist includes two debut novelists and two past winners. And HUGE congratulations to longlisted author Trevor Shearston who visited Forbes Library and Orange City Library last year to talk about his nominated book Game – bringing life to the story of bushranger Ben Hall.

The 2014 longlist is:

Tracy Farr – The Life And Loves Of Lena Guant

Richard Flanagan – The Narrow Road to the Deep North

Ashley Hay – The Railwayman’s Wife

Melissa Lucashenko – Mullumbimby

Fiona McFarlane – The Night Guest

Nicolas Rothwell – Belomor

Trevor Shearston – Game

Cory Taylor – My Beautiful Enemy

Tim Winton – Eyrie

Alexis Wright – The Swan Book

Evie Wyld – All The Birds, Singing

Go to