Skip to main content
AwardsNewsReading & Writing

Miles Franklin Literary Award 2009 Longlist

By March 13, 2009No Comments

A total of 55 books were submitted for this year's award Miles Franklin Literary Award, Australia's first and most prestigious literary award, established in 1954 with a bequest from the author Miles Franklin. She was concerned to see Australian literature flourish and knew first hand the struggles most authors have in Australia. The ten novels selected for the longlist are:

Addition by Toni Jordan

A Fraction of the Whole by Steve Toltz

Breath by Tim Winton

Fugitive Blue by Claire Thomas

Ice by Louis Nowra

One Foot Wrong by Sofie Laguna

The Devil's Eye by Ian Townsend

The Pages by Murray Bail

The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas and

Wanting by Richard Flanagan.

Which books do you think will make it onto the short list to be announced on 16 April?