Skip to main content
AwardsNewsReading & Writing

The Slap wins again

By September 2, 2009No Comments

Author Christos Tsiolkas has won another prize for his book The Slap – the one about the child who gets slapped by an adult (not- related) at a suburban Melbourne BBQ. The novel has won the
Victorian Premier's Literary Awards:
Vance Palmer Prize for Fiction. In making their final selection the judges were particularly attracted to novels that exhibited originality, energy and a distinctive voice. The shortlist included
The Pages by Murray Bail,
Dog Boy by Eva Hornung,
The Boat by Nam Le and Breath by
Tim Winton. Go to the State Library of Victoria website to read the full list of award winners.