Skip to main content

2023 Banjo Paterson Writing Awards Winners

By August 8, 2023August 18th, 20232 Comments

The winners of the annual Banjo Paterson Writing Awards announced at the Orange Readers and Writers Festival on Saturday 5 August are:

The Banjo Paterson writing Awards were established in 1991 to honour Banjo Paterson, a great Australian writer, and favourite son of Orange, with a competition to encourage Short Story or Poetry writing with Australian content. The call for entries is announced each year on 17 February, the anniversary of Banjo’s Birthday.

Congratulations to all who entered the competition and the 2023 winners. the Short Story and Contemporary Poetry winners take home cash prizes of $2,000 each.

Keep up the writing everyone!



  • Coralie Guy says:

    The story Anna you’ve only put up every second page. Please fix it

    • jvidler says:

      Hello Coralie, thank you for your email. The short story has been amended on the website. Thank you, Jasmine – Reading & Writing Coordinator.