• CWL Events

    May  2018
    Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
       
      1 2 3 4 5 6
    7 8 9 10 11 12 13
    14 15 16 17 18 19 20
    21 22 23 24 25 26 27
    28 29 30 31  
Author talk

Kelly Rimmer Author Talk

Local author Kelly Rimmer

Your sister needs you. But her child needs you more. …A moving page-turner with a heart-pounding dilemma: Your sister or her baby. Who do you choose? Fans of Jodi Picoult and Jojo Moyes will love Kelly Rimmer.

Kelly has sold over 600,000 digital copies of her previous four novels: Me Without You, The Secret Daughter, When I Lost You and A Mother’s Confession. Her novels have been translated into more than 20 languages.

Before I Let You Go is Kelly’s first novel to be published in print in Australia and New Zealand. Kelly lives in Orange with her husband, two children and fantastically naughty dogs, Sully and Basil.

Kelly will be in coversation with another local author – Kim Kelly on the night.

Orange City Library
Thursday 1st March
5.30pm
Booking via eventbrite.com.au or phone 6393 8132

Supported by Collins Booksellers Orange

 

Author Nicole Alexander (Photo by Natalia Fogarty (c)

Meet The Great Plains Author Nicole Alexander

Author Nicole Alexander (Photo by Natalia Fogarty (c)

From the American Wild West to the wilds of outback Queensland, from the Civil War to the Depression of the 1930s, The Great Plains is an epic story.

A fourth-generation grazier, Nicole Alexander returned to her family’s property in the early 1990s. She is currently the business manager there and has a hands-on role in the running of the property.

She is the author of five novels: The Bark Cutters, A Changing Land, Absolution Creek, Sunset Ridge and now The Great Plains. Meet Nicole at Orange City Library on Friday 14th November at 12.30pm, bookings essential, please call 6393 8132.

 

 

a POYL cover stroke front only

Leanne Wood Book Launch Tuesday 30th Sept 5.30pm

Join Leanne Wood when she celebrates the launch of her first book Pages of Your Life The Secret Life of Shirley Rumming. Set primarily against the backdrop of an evolving Sydney and spanning the Great Depression, World War II and beyond.

Tuesday 30 September 5.30pm, bookings 6393 8132

Cowra Branch Librarian Caroline presents Maggie with a gift

Cowra Library Hosts Author Maggie MacKellar

Cowra Branch Librarian Caroline presents Maggie with a gift

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yes, another blog posting about Maggie MacKellar!  Well, her talks are worth mentioning.  After her appearance at Orange Maggie presented a talk on her new book, How To Get There, at Cowra library.  It was pleasing to host a large audience, obviously attributable to the popularity of MacKellar’s books.  Her previous work, When It Rains, is an uplifting memoir telling how she overcame family tragedy to begin a new life for herself.  The sequel, How To Get There, is about the path this new and remarkable life has taken, and how she has found happiness again with a new love on a sheep farm in Tasmania.  She has also written Core of My Heart, My Country which is a well-researched account of the demanding lives and fascinating thoughts of pioneer women.  Of course, these books are available through Central West Libraries. Thank you to everyone who came along and made the event such a success!

Author Hugh O'Brien checks out military books

Hugh O'Brien: Attempt the Impossible...

Author Hugh O’Brien checks out military books

 

 

 

 

 

 

“We can all lead a life of adventure if we want” says author High O’Brien when he spoke at Orange City Library on Thursday night to launch his book Undaunted about life in the military – from Navy Clearance Diver to Special Forces. A short video captured an overview of counter terrorism training, a reading from his book gave a glimpse into Navy life and then he shared motivations for getting the most out of life with anecdotes and inspiring mottos such as “attempt the impossible”, “step off the edge” and “nothing worth having is easy.” Thanks Hugh and thank you everyone for coming along!