• CWL Events

    July  2020
    Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
      1 2 3 4 5
    6 7 8 9 10 11 12
    13 14 15 16 17 18 19
    20 21 22 23 24 25 26
    27 28 29 30 31  
Aussie Nominee

Man Booker Prize Nominees are....


Aussie Nominee

One previous winner, one thrice-shortlisted novelist, one Australian, two US authors and five imprints. This is what makes up the shortlist for this year’s Man Booker Prize for Fiction. The shortlist is: To Rise Again at a Decent Hour by Joshua Ferris, The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan, J by Howard Jacobson, The Lives of Others by Neel Mukherjee, We are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler and How to be Both by Ali Smith. What’s your pick for the winner?



Banjo Paterson Writing Awards Presentation Neville Mayor Cr Davis, Mitchell, Mary and Jemimaa

Awards Presentation for Local Banjo Paterson Writing Award Winners


Banjo Paterson Writing Awards Presentation: Neville, Mayor Cr Davis, Mitchell, Mary and Jemima at ABC Central West Radio Studios


Eleanor was presented the Yvonne Zola Encouragement Award at Orange CIty Library.

Eleanor was presented the Yvonne Zola Encouragement Award at Orange CIty Library.

ABC Radio Central West hosted an awards ceremony for local winners of the Banjo Paterson Writing Awards. Orange Mayor Cr John Davis presented short story 3rd prize winner Neville Smith with his prize for the amusing short story The Accountant.

Mitchell was presented first prize including a commemorative Banjo Paterson coin for his poem  A refugee lost in the sea.  Jemima won second prize for her poem Dusk and Mary was presented 3rd prize for her short story The Locket.

The Yvonne Zola Encouragement Award for an Orange-based writer was presented to Eleanor for her poem Letters Home at the Library prior to the school holidays.

Congratulations to all the winners and those who entered the awards. And a BIG thank you to the judges and supporters The Central Western Daily, ABC Central West Radio and the community.

2014-BP-Awards-text logo copy

Judges Busy With Banjo Writing Award Entries

Thank you to everyone who entered this year’s Banjo Paterson Writing Awards. We just wanted to let you know we received  70 Short Story entries, 85 Bush Poetry and 84 Open Poetry and 40 Entries in the ABC Radio Children’s Writing Awards.

The entries are with the judges and winners will be announced on Monday 23 June.


Winning Book

Bailey Book Women's Prize for Fiction Winner Is....

Winning Book

The Irish writer Eimear McBride has won the Baileys book prize for her first novel, A Girl is a Half-formed Thing.  McBride’s dark family tale, written in the hurtling, comma-free voice of an unnamed narrator, won over the judges of the women’s prize for fiction, formerly the Orange prize.

McBride had accumulated a hefty pile of rejection slips, and the manuscript had gone into the back of a drawer, when a conversation between her theatre director husband and a bookshop owner in their adopted home city, Norwich, led to its becoming one of the launch titles of the small independent press Galley Beggar.

This  incredible debut novel tells, with astonishing insight and in brutal detail,
the story of a young woman’s relationship with her brother, and the long shadow
cast by his childhood brain tumour. Not so much a stream of consciousness, as
an unconscious railing against a life that makes little sense.


Australian Book Industry Awards


The 14th Annual Book Industry Awards (ABIAs) winners have been announced with a total of 42 books nominated. Central West Libraries has 39 of these books circulating to borrowers at the moment. We also have some in audio format for our “reading”  listeners.  Book of the Year went to The Rosie Project author Graeme Simsion. And this book was one of the most popular reads for our Pageturners Book Discussion Group. Other Aussie Award longlists such as the Stella Awards and Miles Franklin Literary Awards also provide inspiration for our reading groups.

Read about theABIA winning books http://www.publishers.asn.au/events/event/australian-book-industry-awards